Last Night

Before you start getting those thoughts in your head I’m not that kind of blogger.  I wanted to talk about a marvelous seminar that I went to last night sponsored by the Philadelphia chapter of ASMP (Of which I am member).  The presenter was this wonderful woman named Colleen Wainwright (www.communicatrix.com)

Colleen specializes in media and marketing but more importantly talks about how to get people interested in you and your business and how to keep them.   Her one, overriding mantra is “Be Awesome”.  Sounds simple.  Well after listening to her it’s not as simple as you’d think.  And is in fact a lot of hard work.  Now Colleen is not some fancy schmancy business guru.  She’s a former copywriter and actress who seems to have a lot going on.  And really seems to have a firm grasp on what it takes to market yourself successfully.  I believe that it’s not always about a persons background or education.  If they are presenting information that is informed, current, correct, concise AND is relevant to you then that is all you can ask for and is about what you take away from that interaction.  She was all of that for me.  As well as rather inspirational.  (She definitely lit a fire under my butt).  So if she comes to your town and you want to get more out of your business make it a point to see her.  You won’t be disappointed.

Since this was my first interaction as an ASMP member, I wanted share the links to two fellow architectural photographers I met while I was there.  The first is Joe Kitchen.  He was kind enough to take the time and respond to an email I sent him asking about pricing my stuff for realtors.  Thanks Joe.  Here’s the link to his website http://www.josephmkitchen.com/   The other guy was Greg Benson.  I wanted to mention only because he’s a really nice guy and very talented photographer with whom I shared some good conversation.  Here’s the link to Greg’s website.  http://www.gregbenson.com/

That’s it.  Have a great day.  Don’t forget to be AWESOME!

 

One thought on “Last Night

  1. What a lovely writeup! It helps me to hear what people get out of the seminars at least as much as it helps my ego to hear they enjoyed themselves (and I’m mighty glad you did).

    I’m glad you and the ASMP have found each other. It’s a great organization, and you’re a great addition to it.

Leave a Reply

