Coming Soon

I know.  I know.  I know.  I need to be a little more regular with my posts.  What can I say.  It’s been a busy and interesting couple of weeks.  I have been in West Virginia the past two  out of three weekends.  Doing something I never thought I’d do.  Shooting weddings.  Yes I have lost my wedding cherry.  I was covering for my good friend and fellow photographer Reid Mason of Mason Photographics.  He does amazing work and if you haven’t checked out his website it’s; http://www.masonphotographics.com. Make sure you peruse the Fine Art gallery.  He is truly an artist.  But I digress.  Reid had double booked himself and asked me to cover for him on two weddings.  I must admit I had fun doing it.  A little hectic.  A little crazy.  But the people in WV are considerably more laid back than just about anywhere.  Don’t get me wrong.  I felt the pressure to perform.  But I got some great shots and I’ll post a couple in a few days.  While you can read all the books you want about how people like David Ziser (I highly recommend his book)shoot a wedding.  It can all get thrown out the window when you’re in the heat of battle and just trying to get the shots and not screw up too badly.  What they don’t ever talk about in those books are things like, what to do when the bride is running late for the shots before the wedding.  What to do when you’re not shooting in a nice venue like a church.  What to do when half the group in the wedding party aren’t interested the formal pictures and just want to get to the reception and drink.  And what to do when the bride just wants it over with.  Not to mention what to do when the bride decides that since everyone is dressed up we should get portraits of all of her brothers and sisters and their wives or husbands and children.  Oh well I guess these are things that only experience can teach you how to deal with.

See you next time.

Leave a Reply

