The Cover shot (maybe)

Well last week was an exciting week.  I received a phone call from one of my realtor clients asking me if I could do a shoot for them.  Not a problem.  So we scheduled the shoot for last Thursday.  Well Thursday came and it was your typical grey, overcast late winter day.  Not that  I was thinking the Sun would come out but I was hoping.  I arrived at the property to be greeted by the owner and a woman by the name of Jo Anne Durako.  At this point I really wasn’t sure what was transpiring.  My initial thoughts were that Jo Anne was part of the realtor’s team and was there to kind of oversee things.  Well after talking with Jo Anne for a few minutes it turns out that she is the editor and VP of County Lines magazine and that I was there to provide photographs for the magazine as the property was being featured in the April issue.  Wow!  Awesome!  So I was given relatively free reign.  There were a couple of shots that they asked for specifically but other than that I was told to do what I normally did.   Meanwhile Jo Anne interviewed the homeowner about the features, designer, architect and contractor.   It was a really nice, clean, contemporary home that was actually a conversion that started off as an early 19th century farmhouse.  I would have never guessed that in a million years if I hadn’t inquired.  The day never got any better and I got some exterior shots but they weren’t anything to write home about.  I was really hoping for something that “popped” but I wasn’t going to get it that day that was for sure.  So I went back on Saturday hoping to get something more dramatic.  Again the Sun did not cooperate so I waited for a nice dusk or night shot.  No such luck.  It got cloudy and there was just no color to the sky.  So I sent what I had off to the magazine on Monday morning.  It didn’t take long for Jo Anne to get back to me saying everything looked good except the exterior.  I was expecting that.  Monday afternoon brought out the Sun. Unfortunately I was already committed to another shoot on the other side of town but I told Jo Anne that I’d get over to the property and get a couple of night time shots.   Well what a difference.  Had beautiful clear skies and managed to get this shot.

_MG_9166_fusedJo Anne liked it so much it might be the cover shot for magazine next month!

Here are a couple more from the shoot.

_MG_8475_6_7 _MG_8517

 

Leave a Reply

