Annnnnnnnnnnd We’re Off

The new year is here.  And with it all the hopes and dreams that it brings.  I look at the new year as an open book.  One that we write the story line.  One that we control the destiny of the characters.  I’ve mentioned previously that I was really going to dig in and grow my business this year.  Well it’s started.  And I really haven’t’ done anything yet.  While have been working on a marketing plan and moving forward with some promotions, the month has caught fire all of a sudden.  I have done 4 real estate shoots in the past 5 days.  I have 3 more scheduled for later in the month and I have a big event for the JDRF in a week and a half.  To say I’m happy would be an understatement.  This is  the best January I’ve had!!! And it’s not over yet.

I have taken the turning of the new year to change things up a bit.  I’m always on the look out to improve my skills.  So I’ve adopted some new techniques for my real estate work.  In the past I relied heavily on HDR for my images.  While I satisfied for the most part using this technique, I thought that the HDR softened and added some unwanted color caste that required extra time to remove.  But the biggest thing was the softness.  I’ve tried a lot of different sharpening techniques and multiple sharpening passes but a lot of times all they did was bring up unwanted noise artifacts.  So I took the plunge and ordered a couple Yongnuo 560-III flashes to compliment my 580EXIIs.  These are really awesome flashes and I’ve been very impressed with them.  For $75 they are truly incredible.  While they lack any TTL it doesn’t bother me.  I usually work in manual anyways.  I highly recommend these flashes.  The new technique I’m using involves multiple flashes and some compositing.  I will say I’m much happier with the results.  What do you think?

Reyes Wedding Reyes Wedding Reyes Wedding Reyes WeddingReyes Wedding

2 thoughts on “Annnnnnnnnnnd We’re Off

  1. Wonder images!! I purchased a 568 a few months ago and I MO longer use my Canon flashes as my primaries. I also use the yn 622c’s. I could be wrong but they are the newest triggers from Yongnuo and they work great!! I am very pleased with my purchase so far and it sounds like you are as well! I plan on purchasing 2 of the YN 560 s next month. 🙂

    • Hey Marcus. The 560s are amazing. I haven’t tried their triggers as I’ve been using the Radio Popper JrX system for years. It’s really great. On my Canon flashes if I leave them in TTL I can control the output of each flash independently from the transmitter. Unfortunately repeatability is problematic as the it is just dials without any detents or markings. That’s why I’m thinking of changing up to the Phottix Odin system. Way better than Pocket Wizard TT system and cheaper.

Leave a Reply

